, / 1526 0

Polk County Public Schools is Seeking Hall of Fame Nominations

Polk County Public Schools is Seeking Hall of Fame Nominations
Nominations are being accepted for the 2017 inductees to Polk County Public Schools’ Hall of Fame.
Nominees should be individuals who attended a Polk County public school and made significant professional contributions in the arts, business, clergy, education, entertainment, government, law, military, media, medicine, science, sports or other fields. The nomination deadline is Wednesday, Feb. 1, 2017.
New members being inducted into the Hall of Fame will be announced in May. The 2017 inductees will be honored on June 2, along with valedictorians and salutatorians from each high school’s 2017 graduating class.
To make a nomination, or view previous Hall of Fame members, please visit www.polk-fl.net and enter the keyword “Hall.”
The Hall of Fame began in 1985 as a way to recognize former students who have distinguished themselves in their careers or communities. It currently has 117 members.
Inductees for 2016 were Rear Admiral J. Adrian Jackson, naval officer and former mayor of the City of Bartow; Leslie M. Muma, co-founder of Fiserv, Inc. and philanthropist; Dr. J. Patrick O’Leary, Executive Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs and Associate Vice President for Medical Affairs at Florida International University; and Dr. Neriah E. Roberts, lifelong Polk County educator.
Other members include business entrepreneurs, judges, artists, entertainers, athletes, military leaders, scientists, inventors, Florida governors and more.
# # #
Polk County Public Schools – An Accredited School System
Our Mission: To Provide a High Quality Education for All Students